Change from Single Material Template Fles to Material Table

Creator
Creator

Hello Community!

First post ever here, so I may not be the best at format, but here we go! 

I work for a medium sized sheet metal manufacturer, and we have been using SE for about 13-14 years now. I am new to the company, and part of my mandate is to clean up their CAD data.

All of our CAD files are maintained quite diligently, but none of them are controlled in a managed environment like Insight or TeamCenter. My predecessors have written some fantastic VB scripts to allow some control, but nothing on the scale of the above programs. Our part and assembly files are simply living on a network drive, and they are write protected when copied over there (a problem I am working on, but has to remain a reality for the time being).

Sheet metal parts have been set up to use individual template files for each gauge of steel we use (from 10 to 18 ga.), however many of the files are inconsistent as the material properties can be manipulated on a part by part basis.

I would like to implement the use of a gauge/material table which would be stored on our network, and would lock users into using only the materials and their respective properties which have been defined in said table.

The question is simply this. With all of our files sitting in a windows explorer file system, and not a managed environment, how do I make the change to a material/gauge table for all of my files?

Is there a way to do this other than manually opening every part and linking it to the new table?

Has anyone encountered this problem before? I have done some research, but nothing comes up.

Any help you guys could give me would be fantastic, even if just to point me in the right direction!

Thanks!

"Perhaps I can find new ways to motivate them."
~Darth Vader
6 REPLIES

Re: Change from Single Material Template Fles to Material Table

Esteemed Contributor
Esteemed Contributor