Configurator for SE???

Phenom
Phenom

OK. There is one glaring hole in the SE "ecosystem" and that is the lack of product configurator. I think it would be safe to say that Rulestream is not an option for the SE users and dare I say that SE abilities with Excel are limited as well (I'm not an expert by any means). I might even say that ability to define expressions/variables and use a more prorgamatic functions is limiting. (See recent posting on driving function based/law curves).

Anyway, I bring this topic up because as I look at the market we can see a huge hole here. Especially with the announce of Autodesk's purchase of Configure One. We have SW with their mature partnership with the DriveWorks tool (IMO an excellent tool that all the configurators should strive too) and now Autodesk purchase of Configure One (which is actually a multi-CAD configurator whereas Driveworks is exclusive to SW).

Rulestream is the obvious choice for SE based on the fact that it is a Siemens PLM assest (is CAD agnoistic) but the cost of that tool is well beyond that most SMB's could afford. I would love to see Rulestream light tool that would work with SE. Something that could ship with SE standard- using the same strategy that SW and DriveWorks used.

Could anyone else use a product configuration tool to drive CAD models, assy, drawings, dxf flat patterns, costing for quotes, etc. ? What areas of the software would need to change to actually put a html-base configuration tool in place that drove SE models, assy, etc.

6 REPLIES

Re: Configurator for SE???

Phenom
Phenom

From my point of view, SE is just now getting mature enough to corporate things like this.