Custom holes, possible?

[ Edited ]

Hi,

I'm new to Solid Edge and wonder if it's possible to make custom holes/cuts? Based on a saved part.

We're using a lot of transducers in our designs, all of them have to be attached using special designed holes, based on specifications provided by the manufactures.

We are looking for a way to insert these holes into our parts easily, so we don't have to create them from the ground up.

Is it possible to create a part of a hole and save it, to be used later as a "custom hole/cut"?

9 REPLIES

Re: Custom holes, possible?

1. Select all the features, that define this custom hole. Probably the easiest way to select would be in Pathfinder.
  2. Then, click with right mouse button (RMB) on selected features and select Copy.
  3. Now, click on Feature Library (similar to parts library when in assembly).
  4. Select the folder, where you want to copy your feature.
  5. Click with RMB and select Paste.
  6. When you will click Paste, new dialog box will appear. This is more for an information about what you are coping.Additionaly, you can enter here your own 'StatusBar Description' in the Prompt field.

Hope, that this description helps.

[ Edited ]

Hi Sven,

Thanks for your reply, but it's not exactly what I'm looking for I think.

Your solution copy multiple features within a part and save it into a new part, correct? At least that's what I experienced after trying.

What i'm looking for is a feature/tool/function to make a hole/cut, based on the structure of another part. It's hard to explain I guess Smiley Sad

Look at the picture in my first post. I have a part identically to the inside of that hole (the part marked with red). How can I use the hole-part to make a hole/cut in another part?

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JJC08hHa8V4

I hope, it help to develop it, in the way you need it.

Yasser

Does that work when my hole is a sketch?

First about my first reply.