Dimension Value Edit Handle

Creator
Creator

Hi All,

I'm very new to Solid Edge and am working throught the 'User Interface Basics' .pdf

I've got to Chapter 4. Selection handles.

I've drawn the shape roughly as shown, now i need to edit the sizes.

Can someone please explain how i get the edit handle B to show so that i can edit the size of the component?

Thank you,

Rob

11 REPLIES

Re: Dimension Value Edit Handle

Solution Partner Valued Contributor Solution Partner Valued Contributor
Solution Partner Valued Contributor

Hi Rob,

Since You are working in order...., you need go back to history how the shape been made by select the sketch and select dynamic edit. the dimension will appear as long as the dimension are available on your sketch.

Since your model is not dimensioned... so first please go back to your sketch by edit profile and attach dimension from there.

Wish it Help

Creator
Creator

Thank you,

I got that.

When i click on the dynamic edit button as shown in your .png file, the only dimension that comes up for editing is the height.

Is this because i'm drawing in the wrong plane?

I need to edit all the dimensions.

Regards,

Rob

PLM World Member Legend PLM World Member Legend
PLM World Member Legend

Rob,

you are not drawing in the wrong plane.  You can only use dynamic edit on the dimensions you have entered in the sketch itself.  The original rectangle had no dimensions added so there's nothing to edit. The chamfers each have a dimension (15mm) and these can be edited. If you go back and add dimensions during the sketch phase you can still add dimensions which you can then edit at any time in future.

Hope that makes sense.

Frank

ps using Synchronous mode you could edit any of this anyway.

Edinburgh University

Solution Partner Valued Contributor Solution Partner Valued Contributor
Solution Partner Valued Contributor

Hi Rob,

As explained further by Frank.