Drafts from Heavy Resource Intensive Assemblies

Looking for suggestions as I am new to SE drafting and really hit a wall with the drafting environment and a rather large (several thousand part) master assembly. I can draft sub-assemblies in most cases just fine, especially from part files I created myself, but the problems seem to eminiate from vendor imported parts that are in many cases too detailed. As soon as I lay a principal view down, it takes the better part of 10 sometimes 15 minutes to get it to show up, it locks up SE. If I update the views it takes a few minutes too even if there are no changes. Are there settings to simplify the assembly in the drafting environment that perhaps I am overlooking? This model is not even that resource intensive in the modeling environment, it just goes to a crawl in the drafting environment. I had to export some things to Autocad today just to release some drawings that needed to go out. Thanks for your help.

9 REPLIES

Re: Drafts from Heavy Resource Intensive Assemblies

[ Edited ]

You can try things like inactivating views when opening a draft. But that won't help when creating a new view.

The part count isn't as important as how "feature rich" they are. Every facet, curve, etc. has to be processed for correct display. So, the less faces, the better. And no helix features like realistic threads, knurls, etc. We download a lot of vendor parts which for our purposes come in way too detailed so the first step is to go over the parts in synchronous and pare them down to the bare minimum and simplify shapes where possible.

Below are typical examples: an original import and the one after it leaves my "shop".

OriginalMotoro.jpgBareMinMotor.jpg

Bruce Shand
ST9 MP6 - Insight - Win10 - K4200

bshand is right on target. I do exactly the same time as I have time to re-model vender parts. But that is exactly the problem. No time to remodel vender parts.