Editing assembly relationship offset, possible bug?

Pioneer
Pioneer

Im new to Solid Edge and finding this action to take too many steps. I have some parts that I placed with offset plane relationships as they are just flat parts with no holes or anything to define mating.

There is a toolbar shown when editing assembly relationsips. After editing the offset number in the toolbar and hitting enter or clicking OK, most of the options on this toolbar are disabled. The only thing I can do is change the offest type, change the offset number, or click Flip. The OK button is disabled along with the rest of the toolbar, except for the Relationship Types dropdown, Activate Part button and Placement Part button. I cannot select another relationship, that dropdown is disabled as is the OK button. The only way I can continue to edit relationships is either the Esc key or click Select on the ribbon which terminates editing, then click Assemble on the ribbon to get back into editing the assembly relationships again.

This makes editing the offsets very tedious, it would much easier to just apply the new number then be able to continue editing that relationship or select another relationship to edit rather than having to start over each time. I dont know if I am doing something wrong, if it is something unique to my setup or parts in use, or if this is a bug, the version of solid edge is ST8..

11 REPLIES

Re: Editing assembly relationship offset, possible bug?

Esteemed Contributor
Esteemed Contributor

A video showing your process would go a long way in explaining the problem.

Bruce Shand
ST9 MP10 - Insight - Win10 - K4200

Honored Contributor
Honored Contributor

I think what you are missing is, when you select an assembly part, the offset values for each mate can be edited.

I run into two problem situations.

First w/ three planer mates, to flip one of the mates, one of the other needs to be deleted then added back.