Exporting Points to IGES

Experimenter
Experimenter

Hello,

I'm new to SE, but not new to CAD. What I'm trying to do is create a series of datum points in a part file, which also includes solid geometry, then export everything to an IGES file.

I have created the points within a sketch feature as there does not seem to be a specific datum point feature (I'm not sure if there's a better way to do this?). Then when I export to IGES, points are not exported and I haven't been able to achieve this by tweaking the export options.

Is anybody able to help? I can't remember trying to do this in other CAD systems, but it seems like it should be possible. Please note that format must be IGES for this application, so step etc isn't an option.

Thanks for your help,

Dave

12 REPLIES

Re: Exporting Points to IGES

Phenom
Phenom

I'm pretty sure that geometry inside a sketch is not exportable in Iges.
I'm sure you can export curves geometry by activating the wireframe export in Iges options.
I'm not aware of any tool in Solid Edge to create geometry points.

Builder
Builder

Dave,

I haven't done this in a while, or if it will help, but maybe try extruding your sketch as a surface say .001" or so.  This is the only way I've been able to export sketches, but I can't remember if it worked in iges format or not.  It does work with part copies.  I miss this ablility too.

Matt

Experimenter
Experimenter

Yeah, I'm not sure that's going to work; I need exact points. The reason I'm doing this is that I want to be able to position this component accurately inside a test hall. We'll be using a laser system, so by creating these datum points where the centre of the reflectors will be, I can interrogate the position of the physical component and adjust it until the measured points meet the nominal positions from the CAD file. If that makes sense...