Extracting Material Properties Macro

Creator
Creator

I guess I should start off by saying I have little to no experience writing code  -__- . I have been trying to use different examples from various sources but I continuously get errors and dont understand how to properly debug them (or if I am even using the correct code for what I want to achieve).

I am implementing Radan for our Nesting Software and have been relatively successful with its application for our manufacturing process. The first issue I ran into was how our material templates were set up in Solid Edge. We use all Stainless Steel so our filtering should have been easy, but whoever set up the templates included the gage size and finish in the material type - I.E. 14 Ga SS 2B. After communication with some people at Vero they have generated a DTM plug-in for us that allows Radan to extract file property information from Solid Edge. This has helped us quite a bit and opened alot of doors for us without having to change our template structure.

My issue now is that our template does not include the material grade (301, 304, 316)... I would rather not create 2 additional templates so Radan can filter the grade of Stainless. This would require us to edit thousands of parts in our current library and also make duplicate parts of the same thing just to change the material selection as customers might order an upgraded material for a standard machine.

I need help writing a Macro (honestly, I dont know how to start) that will extract the material for all of the sheetmetal parts in the desired assembly. Next, I envision a form to pop up and ask the user to select the material grade (301, 304, 316). After the grade has been selected I expect the macro to add the information to the extracted material properties and paste them in the file properties under something like "Keywords".

Any and all insight on the matter will be greatly appreciated.

7 REPLIES

Re: Extracting Material Properties Macro

Phenom