Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Extracting variables

Creator
Creator

Hi,

I am new to Solid Edge but I have touch to some other CAD. I work in sheet metal and i need a way to quickly calculate de neutral fiber of a bend. We have an in house chart and i manage to put it in variable into my basic piece template. We get .STEP files and convert them into sheet metal for laser and bending operations. So basically I need a way to get the bend radius from somewhere in Solid Edge. What I am missing is the "somewhere" part. I dont want to enter it by and as I am better entering the neutral fiber at this point.

I tought using the bend table that is generated after you transform a solid. I can't locate the bend radius variable into the table.

This method will only be use for simple part with equal bend radius all around the part. This should cover around 90% of the job. I have include what I got so far as some screenshots. 

Solid Edge is in french here so sorry about that. Anyway I am pretty sure you guys can navigate it eyes closed.

Don't worry about guiding me in your English version. I should be able to follow.

Also, If there is anywhere a list of all variables in ST9, it might be very handy.

Regards,

Nick

18 REPLIES

Re: Extracting variables

PLM World Member Phenom PLM World Member Phenom
PLM World Member Phenom

I don't deal with enough sheet metal, so I end up using the standard numbers.  There are plenty of Sheet Metal experts on this forum that I'm sure will chime in the next time they are online.

But, I think if you research the Gage Table [gagetable.xls] usually located in your preferences folder, you may find the level of control you are looking for. You also may have to look at the Material Table, Gage tab.

SE Material Table - Gage Tab.png 

Betreff: Extracting variables

Gears Esteemed Contributor Gears Esteemed Contributor
Gears Esteemed Contributor

Hi @Nick-R

as answered by @swertel already,