Fill/Extrude open space

Experimenter
Experimenter

I'm quite new to SolidEdge (ST6) and have searched but found nothing that helped me.

I have a closed area from four oval shaped solids. These are also slightly bent so down-left corner are lower than right-upper corner. Both left-upper and right- lower are in between. The area between these are a bent rectangular and I want to fill it or extrude the open space part. I would like to do so without going to 2D and use planes, schetch and similar.

Is this possible? (Attach a small part of the solid)

Thanks

Mikael

8 REPLIES

Re: Fill/Extrude open space

Phenom
Phenom

Hello Mikael, Welcome to the forum.

You can first use the Derived Curve from the Surfacing toolbar to create a single curve bounding the open space.

mikael01.png

Then use the Bounded Surface command to fill the space with a surface.

mikael02.png

Later you can try thickening the surface but it may result into non-manifold or zero-thickness surface, but there are many more options to accomplish this.

It is recommended to use the Command Finder at the bottom of the Solid Edge window to find the commands in the UI.

Hope you find this helpful to begin with.

Regards,

Tushar Suradkar

www.SurfAndCode.in

[EDIT]:

Don't know what your design intent is, meaning what you want to do with the filled open space later. But I was able to extend the bounded surface which enabled thickening it without errors. Here are some more images:

mikael03.png

mikael04.png

I extended the surface from all four sides, though it may not always be necessary.

Esteemed Contributor
Esteemed Contributor

Hi there,

Have a look at this......is it what you're trying to do?