Solved! Go to solution

Help with a 3D printable model. Hole on a curved surface

Hi there,

I am new to the community. I am an Electrical Engineering student in Texas working on a few robotics projects that use 3D Printed parts. I am trying to make a curved part that has holes for screws. The screws will go in the innner wall of a section of cylinder and come out on a flat surface.

I easily made the holes by working from the flat surface, but to make a small well for the screw heads is proving to be a more difficult situation.

cylinderSection.png

The highlighted plane is the face I want to make the wells for the screws into, I want to make 4 0.21 inch circles concentric to each of the 4 screw holes and about 0.07 inches in. I can not seem to make circles on this surface to extrude my well. I assume that I have to do some projection from a "parallel" plane to get what I want, I just do not know how.

If anyone can point me in the direction to a tutorial for this specific action I would be grateful.

9 REPLIES

Re: Help with a 3D printable model. Hole on a curved surface

the trick here is understanding wher eyou want the depth to be from...  The 2 holes at either side will have different depths due to the arc,  so I assume you want min dept from the shorted dept of the hole.

I think I would approach this by creating 2 seperat planes and creating your C'Bores in 2 seperate features.  

i'd use the 2 points shown with teh Blue and Green arroes for the 2 different planes.  this should giv eyou the min depth onthe short wall...   you should be able to create the 2 parallel planes from you origial plane...

7-27-2017 1-35-05 PM.png

===================================================
Matt Johnson
Solid Edge Certified Professional (ST7 & ST8)
Solid Edge ST9 (SEEC) - Production
NX10 (Tc Integration) Pre-Production Testing
Teamcenter 10.1.6