How to setup gmail as the default email client for solidedge

Pioneer
Pioneer

Hi Folks, this is my first post in the forum. I'm new to solidedge but not to CAD, been using various systems since 1984. I've moved to SolidEdge recently and have just upgraded to ST8.

The problem is inconsistent crashes, and its been very difficult to locate the reason. Its perfectly fine when SiemensPLM requests for the information to be sent by email, but its not fine to force users to use outlook as the default mail client. I can't find ways to change that within solidedge. Outlook has been removed from my computer since apart from it being too intrusive its also a memory hog at least for what we do.

So two things:

1. How can I setup gmail or yahoo-mail or any other my-user-mail-client, as the default email client that can enable me to send the crash reports to SiemensPLM.

2. Can SiemensPLM also be kind enough to pop-up the most likely cause of crash based on simple analysis in addition to the pane that suggests that data will be sent out to them? That will be immensely helpful for us.

Thank you

N

Best regards,
Naresh
8 REPLIES

Re: How to setup gmail as the default email client for solidedge

Esteemed Contributor
Esteemed Contributor

Hi there, and welcome,

What OS are you running?......AFAIK you can allocate your default mail client through Windows user settings.

Of course you don't have to send them the automatic way. You just need to locate the relevant log files and send yourself.

These files contain  (open one of them, and see what they contain, it's not your average read like a Sunday morning newspaper) system & software information, critical to the crash event....this has to be analyzed to determine anything, and there is a procedure to go through  with your reseller (VAR) to get more consise action.

Sean Cresswell
Design Manager Streetscape Limited
Solid Edge ST10 [MP2] Classic [x2 seats]
Windows 10

Pioneer
Pioneer

Sean,