Inconsistent Thread Depiction?

Hello all - I'm new to Solid Edge, and am using ST4.

I have created a couple 3D models using synchronous tech, and from those created 2D drawings. Both parts have cut views.

In one part, the threaded holes are displayed correctly on one end, but on the other end the major diameter lines end before the champfer. (See attachment "champfer end") Is there any way to fix that?

In my other part, the minor diameter isn't showing at all (see attachment "missing minor diameter") - it looks instead like a regular hole, even though the top view clearly shows the thread designation. Is there a setting somewhere that I don't have selected in order to show this as a threaded hole in a section view? 

10 REPLIES

Re: Inconsistent Thread Depiction?

[ Edited ]

Hi there @JLMA,

In regards to the chamfer end, it looks to me [hard to say for sure, without eyeballing the model] like the thread extent is not set "To Hole Extent", which should give the result you're looking for.

For the second issue, it'd be the nominal diameter that is not displayed here, yeah?, as the actual hole in the material is shown correctly.....I'm thinking back to ST4 [even yesterday was a long time ago for me Robot wink ] there was a setting in SE-Options, or the section view properties for this.

What ST4 maintenance pack are you on? [find this info like my picture below... mine is 108.00.03.004 x64]

Sean Cresswell
Design Manager Streetscape Limited
Solid Edge ST9 [MP7] Classic [x2 seats]
Windows 10

[ Edited ]

Try these two settings. I found in order to change the view appearance after change the mode setting I had to go to advanced view settings in view props, turn on process intersections, update the view, then turn off again.

Give it a shot.

Edit: You can also toggle "show" of the affected part in the display tab of view properties instead of using the advanced tab. Apparently anything that causes a serious regen.

Or: none of this helps you at all.

Bruce Shand