KeyShot: Tips

[ Edited ]

Hello,

So, I've been using KeyShot for 3-4 years now, and I've been asked to share some of my tips using KeyShot. The request was for my top 3 tips, but I can share more if people wish. So, I'll start off this thread with the very foundation for a great render, which is the geometry itself. Like an fellow render ethusiast and experienced KeyShot user eloquently told me:

"If you can start with an exceptional model, the rest is easy"  - Bill Gould

1. GEOMETRY PREPARATIONS

So, what do we mean by exceptional geometry? Well, first of all, it's all about the details, and more details, and even more details:

• Edge Blends/Fillets
    A simple trick for heavily increasing the visual impact of your geometry is adding edge blends to almost every sharp edge there is (unless, of course, we are talking about a knife edge or similar). However, sometimes, you don't have the luxury, or even the time to add edge blends to every geometry on your design. That's where we can use the Radius function within KeyShot to add the detail. The video below demonstrates this:

If you look at this higher resolution image, you can see the impact of the added radius:

• Component Air / Geometry Gaps
    Another related geometry visual booster is adding gaps in the geometry. This is something which I know is a no-no for engineered models, but it can prove as another geometry enhancer which will boost the visual impact. The reason for this, is that a small gap emphasizes shadow effects in that particular area. Have a look at the legs for this (yet another) lego guy below:

Now, I've emphasized the effect on this image. And keep in mind that we have an edge blend to the right image, which makes it seems like it is a tiny gap. If it weren't, they would look like they were one single part.