Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Lincensing problems on Solid Edge ST5 student edition

Not applicable

Hello, I am currently a student who has downloaded the student edition of Solid Edge ST5 software. Unfortunately I was having troubles licensing the program. I will put my best effort to explain the situation. Not long ago, I downloaded the student edition of the Solid Edge program, and managed to get it installed perfectly without a predicament. However, when I clicked on the short cut to run the program, it stated “Your copy of Solid Edge must be licensed for first-time use.” as a pop-up. After pressing the “Ok” button, nothing occurred. Although it seemed like nothing happened, I believe that the software automatically directly to the “License Utility” program to get the product licensed because when I tried to run the “License Utility” manually (after trying to open the Solid Edge application), a pop-up appeared, this time stating “The Solid Edge license is currently in use. Please exit your Solid Edge session then restart the Licence Utility.” So I restarted the computer and ran the License Utility, it asked for administrative permission, so I accepted, and nothing happened after that, and the application still said it must be licenced first. I found that there was also a “License Browsing” tool, but it said “Licence Browsing is only valid with floating licenses.” I was devastated, I tried reinstalling the program several times, and I just gave up. I will inform you with some additional information that could help you conclude what the problem or problems are. I have an Acer Aspire X3475 with the model name/code of AX3475-EF328. It is currently running Windows 8 and has no other known malfunctions. I purchased this new computer fairly recently and I have already downloaded a student edition Solid Edge on my previous computer I believe with the same e-mail address if that may conflict with the licensing. Please, I beg you for you