Mates and direction arrows. Can arrow direction be reversed?

Pioneer
Pioneer

Seems like no matter what I do I can never just pick "this face and that face" and get them to mate up quickly and easily. I have been using SE for about 2 years an consider myself pretty good. But, I came from using SW for 10+ yrs. In SW mating was easy and intuitive, not so much for SE.

Anyway, when picking mates such as face or plane is there a way to rever the arrows so it doesnt flip parts around and give you the exact opposite of what you want?

Let me know if im not making sense.

Thanks for any help.

17 REPLIES

Re: Mates and direction arrows. Can arrow direction be reversed?

Esteemed Contributor
Esteemed Contributor

I agree with you that it's not as intuitive or friendly as in SW. Nor is fixing busted mates. They should provide an instream switch between align and mate. Flash fit at least smooths it out somewhat.

Bruce Shand
ST9 MP10 - Insight - Win10 - K4200

Esteemed Contributor
Esteemed Contributor

So two things...

1. Solid Edge has 2 different "mates" depending on the direction of face normals.   If the face normals should point in opposite directions, you use the "Mate" relationship.  If the face normals should point in the same direction, you use the "Planar Align" relationship.
  2. If you mistakingly use the "Mate" relationship when you should have used the "Planar Align" relationship, just after you select the second face and the part moves, you should see a "Flip" button on the end of the Relationship command bar.  Clicking it will flip it to the other relatioonship.

On another note, if you were to use Flashfit, SE will assume either the Mate or the Planar Align relationship based on the starting orientation of the parts and will try to maintain that same orientation as closely as possible.

Thanks,
Ken

Production: ST9 MP10
Testing: ST10 MP3

Pioneer
Pioneer