Solved! Go to solution

Pretty easy Question, How do I move an entire sketch down without it freaking out and changing?

I'm new to solid edge, but I'm pretty well aquainted with the software by now.  I have a sketch with some curved geometry (its the metal part of a drip tray from a Keurig Coffee maker), and after I finished the sketch, I noticed that the sketch was .017" above the reference plane.  In theory I could leave it this way, but I would like to center it on the plane.  If I use the connect command on the bottom of the circle, then on the midpoint of the reference plane, the sketch completely changes. Is there a way to just move the entire sketch down .017", so it lines up with the reference plane?

Also, another quick and random question.  When I generate the sketch and extrude it to form the drip tray, when I use the hole command and select the plane from the protrusion, the plane is turned about 15 degrees.  The sketch only has 2 straight lines, so is the plane using these lines to form the direction of the plane? How can I make the plane I want to use to cut holes the same as the base reference plane? I'm sorry for the length, and any help is greatly appreciated. I'll upload the file, but I don't know if you can read it because it is a University copy (ST4). Also, I am in ordered mode. 

Thanks,

Brian Mixon

5 REPLIES
Solution
Solution
Accepted by KennyG (Esteemed Contributor)
‎08-26-2015 04:32 AM

Hi Brian,   I'm not able to open the file because of it's...

Hi Brian,

I'm not able to open the file because of it's Educational format lock. [can see it in the preview pane though..so see what you mean]

Sketch repositioning,...if you right click on the sketch and choose edit definition, then update it to a coincident plane.

As to the holes, when selecting a face for the orientation, this can make odd first up setting, you can sometimes rotate the model to get another choice, but in your case, I'd suggest placing them on a reference plane.

HTH