Pull-out Challenge

Genius
Genius

Good day everyone,

Today is my first post on this forum, have been reading this forum for some while now trying to pick things up I don't know yet.

I'm a 26 year young engineer who already works arround 8 years full time with solid edge at a stainless steel tank / vessel production company in the Netherlands.

I have a challenge for pulling out material in a roof top, i have added a sheetmetal part to this topic to show you guys how we do it now. This way is time consuming, i would like to know if there is a easier way or something that i might be missing.

Our support kinda gave up with the reason that solid edge is not capable of calculating this forms with the round base it's on.

We are currently working in ST6, but if there might be a solution in ST7 or ST8 I would still like to know. We can't use ST7 and ST8 because it breaks our standard parts which will be fixed in ST9.

Hope to hear from you guys!

Cheers,

Sander

14 REPLIES

Re: Pull-out Challenge

Phenom
Phenom

How is this feature created in real life? Is the whole plate profiled, rolled to make a cone then the deformation part punched out or similar?

If so, I don't know of a way to do the deformation features on a curved surface in SE such that you get a flat pattern with no deformation, however your model as it is will flatten the cone part and show the deformed feature unflattened - perhaps your CNC nesting software can still use this to cutout the overall shape while etching the location of the punched part?

Otherwise if it's a welded hatch or connection piece or whatever, you'd be best stopping at your normal cutout feature then adding the external part in an assembly. 

Community Manager Community Manager
Community Manager