Rounded Beveled Edge with some confusing characteristics (at least for me as a beginner)

Pioneer
Pioneer

I've posted a couple of questions on here regarding a Keurig Drip tray that I'm attempting to model for fun and practice.  The Drip tray is somewhat of an ellipse cut in half.  I'll post the part file of what I have, as well as some pictures of the actual part I'm copying.  So, my question is how to make this beveled edge that goes around the front of the ellipse.  I don't think I can just use the Chamfer tool because the offsets are different around the ellipse.  Towards the back (where the drip tray backs up to the Keurig Body), the offset is small, but in the front it is quite large.  I have no idea if this made any sense, but I hope the attatchments help you to visualize my problem.  Thanks in advance for any help! 

Additional Info: Solid Edge ST4 (Student/Education Liscense), Ordered Mode, I'm a beginner (about 3 weeks experience with the software)

I've attatched 3 files: the plasticdriphousing.par (which is the part I need help with), the metal piece that fits into it, and a picture of the drip tray. 

Thanks,

Brian Mixon

7 REPLIES

Brian,   I cannot open the file since it was created in a...

Phenom
Phenom

Brian,

I cannot open the file since it was created in a student version, HOWEVER: 

What I would do is draw a 2D sketch of the path the bevel will follow. Then, create a second sketch at one end of the path using the Plane Normal to Curve option in the Plane Step, and draw the profile of the bevel. Use the swept cutout command, define the second sketch as your profile and the first as your path, and it sweeps your cutout profile around your path. Assuming you have never used this command before, there are many things you have to do right for this to work. The 2D path you draw in the first sketch must be tangent continuous, the profile you draw in the second step must not leave zero-thickness edges, etc etc.