If you're using a server located options.xml for everyone then I don't think they can. They could save the templates with a unique file name in the template folder.
I take it back. You can allow changes to the template location in options.xml. I'm not sure how it works in practice among many users but change "no" to "yes" in template location in seadmin or change the xml directly.