Sense 3D scanner

Looking into possibly getting a Sense 3D scanner for work to help with reverse design of existing parts.

I wanted to know if anyone had any experience with this scanner?

I see it exports to a .stl format. What would be the best way to turn this into a solid using Solid Edge.

Looking forwad to running ST9

Thanks in advance for the help and suggestions.

5 REPLIES

Re: Sense 3D scanner

I tried one of the 3DSystems Sense scanners a few months ago when a coworker brought one to work. It is pretty finicky to use and really only good for organic shapes due to is fairly low resolution. If you scan a mechanical shape with sharp corners, it will tend to round everything off into a blob. It also loses it's tracking easily so you have to restart the scans often which takes a lot of time.

I'm far from an expert in this area, but turning the 3D scan into a usable CAD solid model appears to be a bigger problem than the scanner. Solid Edge does not currently include any tools to do this.  I also know some folks that do 3D scanning for a living and they tend to use a hybrid approach of taking sections of the 3D scan, referencing the sections to develop sketches, and then turning the sketches into 3D geometry (I think they are using SolidWorks).  I asked them specificity about other dedicated 3D scanning software such as Geomagic Design X (costs 4-5 times as much as Solid Edge) and they said they did not have much luck with it.

David McMahon
Solid Edge ST9, MP3
Macbook Air, i7, Windows 10 via Boot Camp

Thanks for the input.

With the growth and affordability of 3D printers and 3D scanners becoming, you would think that there would be more of a push to make CAD, Scan data, and printers more compatiable.

Maybe the Solid Edge brass and programers can come across this post and give us some feedback on using 3D scan data in Solid Edge.

They were actually soliciting feedback on this forum awhile back. See link below: