Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Show Direction on Elements

Creator
Creator

Hi, I am new to Solid Edge, but I am fairly familiar with 2D Modeling in MasterCam/EdgeCam.

I might have missed it somewhere in a tutorial, (so i hope this isn't a silly question!) but I basically want to know how to snap to parts together. Example, in the attachment, Snap faces S1 and S2 together, lining up either midpoint C's or Endponts A to A or B to B. In MasterCam, this is known as 'Translating Elements'.

Thanks

4 REPLIES

Re: Show Direction on Elements

Gears Esteemed Contributor Gears Esteemed Contributor
Gears Esteemed Contributor

Hi there,

What you're looking for are assembly relationships.

See this video I slapped together...

Sean Cresswell
Design Manager Streetscape Ltd
Solid Edge 2019 [MP2] Classic [x3 Seats - Cloud Enabled]
Windows 10 - Quadro P2000

Gears Honored Contributor Gears Honored Contributor
Gears Honored Contributor

Hi,

To snap the blocks together in Solid Edge, first start a new assembly from the Startup screen and drag the parts from the library which looks likea mini Windows Explorer.

Once the blocks are in the assembly, fromthe Ribbon bar, Home tab's Relate group, select the Mate 1.png and pick the two faces S1 and S2 so they snap together though they may not align as desired initially.

Next, pick Connect 2.png and pick the two endpoints A and A on the blocks.

Finally, you may still want to align the vertical faces, so pick Planar Align 3.png to align the vertical faces.

After you are through this process once, you can use Capture Fit 4.png which learns the relations you applied so far, so next time you plac ethe block again, it does the placement in a jiffy like Translate Elements in MasterCAD.

Hope that was useful.

Tushar Suradkar

http://surfandcode.blogspot.in/

Creator
Creator

Hey Sean,