Simple pattern not working

Honored Contributor
Honored Contributor

Attached is a very simple part. I am not an expert in patterns. Why can't I pattern a feature 6 times around a circle? If I edit the pattern to 8 times it works, but 6 it will not do. The preview does show up correctly, just not the result.

In the attached part file I have attempted to make a circlular pattern of 6, but only 4 will show up. And the pattern command is showing an error for apperant reason.

14 REPLIES

Re: Simple pattern not working

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

You're attempting to use "Curved" pattern versus the standard "Pattern" (Circular). 

• Select the "Pattern" command
  • Pick the feature to pattern
  • Select the top face of the part to "draw" your pattern profile
  • Once in profile mode, select the Circular Pattern (in Features group)
  • Select center point of part and draw a circle (size/direction shouldn't matter as it will look at your count field and equally space)

Hope this helps

Kevin Grayson
Solid Edge Technical Consultant
kevin.grayson@siemens.com

Honored Contributor
Honored Contributor

Thanks, I just used a "typical" pattern rather than curved. Then it worked. I thought I needed a curved pattern for circular.

I'm always looking for ways to avoid adding another sketch. 

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

Yeah, that part (and the pattern process we are talking about) is lightning fast in Sync mode and no sketches required....

Kevin Grayson
Solid Edge Technical Consultant
kevin.grayson@siemens.com

Honored Contributor
Honored Contributor

Hi @12GAGE

but IMHO the steps which are necessary to fullfill the curved pattern are at least as much as if You create a simple circled pattern.

And by the way - in this example the curved pattern ONLY can be a smart pattern where the circle pattern also works as fast pattern.

This for me is an old rule, to always try a fast pattern first before change it to smart!