Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Solid extrision loses sketch relations

Experimenter
Experimenter

Hello,

I'm new to Solid Edge - I have quite a bit of experience of CAD systems, but not much in the last 5 years or so (was mostly UG / NX). So, I'm struggling with a very simple issue - I'm modelling a simple lever as an exercise and want it to be parametric - or as far as possible. So, I created a sketch of the lever outline, which seems reasonably parametric. I then extruded the sketch to form a solid - but here is where the problem starts. Whatever I do, I can't seem to get the solid to behave in thesame way as the sketch parameterisation - specifically, when I change a fillet radii of the original sketch - the solid updates, but the construction geometry related to the centre of that fillet does not follow the fillet centre - which it did as the basic 2D sketch.

I'm obviously doing something basic wrong - but any help would be much appreciated. lever_011 is the basic 2D sketch lever012 is the sketch + extrusion. The parameter I'm trying to update is "Radial 1" - which follows design intent on he sketch, but not the sold.

Cheers 

4 REPLIES 4

Re: Solid extrision loses sketch relations

Legend
Legend

What program are you using, version & mp number? I am unable to open the files.

It sounds like you are using synchronous, once you complete a sketch and use it to generate a solid the sketch is consumed and no longer used for the geometry. If you want to keep sketch based design and keep your models parametric switch to the ordered modeling environment.

I almost always use ordered as it permits the design methodology known as skeleton sketching, where you layout your critical information in a sketch and drive the geometry with that sketch.

The only time I use sync is to modify dumb parts, from vendors or other cad systems.

Gears Esteemed Contributor Gears Esteemed Contributor
Gears Esteemed Contributor
Hi there ,