Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Student version for learning professionals

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Good afternoon community,

I've been using SE for a few years now and have been very happy with the software for our needs. Coming from other 3D software it took time to adjust and learn but I did it mostly without any training. We have two or three team members that are proficient in other software as well such as Rhino and have strong 2D skills in autocad but need to be trained in SE so that we can get more of our drafting work into SE and out of Autocad (derived from 3D models). It's a hard pitch getting more monthly subs or perpetual seats for people learning or have 0 experience in parametric CAD.

Is there a way to purchase student subscriptions or obtain student versions for them so that I can train and bring them up to speed? With tutorials and 1 on 1 training I'm confident I can bring them up to speed within 1-3 months and get them on full seats once the value is shown, and internal engineering team can grow. Any resources you could share would be helpful. Thank you.

7 REPLIES 7

Re: Student version for learning professionals

Gears Honored Contributor Gears Honored Contributor
Gears Honored Contributor

@CADCAM16 

If your colleagues would eventually be joining you working full time on SE then purchasing a full subscription as early as possible will only help master it quicker.

Be aware that the models and drawings created using the student version will not open with the commercial version that you may eventually purchase.

The video tutorials that come with online help are a great place to start learning for beginners.

https://docs.plm.automation.siemens.com/tdoc/se/2019/se_help#uid:xid1129777:index_user_interface:se_...

Gears Phenom Gears Phenom
Gears Phenom

Hi @CADCAM16 ,

I would suggest using this Forum as a Source for tutorials and answers.

The best one!

Online video tutorials: