Use Virtual Components in a Parts List

PLM World Member Phenom PLM World Member Phenom
PLM World Member Phenom

Subtitle could be: Do I have to create a non-graphic model?

I'm finally getting to the point where our chemicals and formulation/recipes are going to be documented the same way we do parts and assemblies.  But, of course, these are all non-graphical parts consisting of source control drawings and "assembly" drawings that are not much more than a parts list with nominal quantities.

I could not model anything, and create a manual text table for the parts list.  But, without a PDM system implemented for this product line yet, I'd like to use Solid Edge to perform the where-used impact analysis.

A long time has passed since I looked at virtual components and I'm just getting into many of the newer built-in data management and other features since ST5 (we skipped from ST5-ST8, and we still haven't rolled ST9 into production).

Has anyone developed any tricks to creating parts lists and where-used searches without needing non-graphical model files?

Re: Use Virtual Components in a Parts List

Esteemed Contributor
Esteemed Contributor

The problem with Virtual Components is that they only exist in the assembly they were created in and thus can't be used in another assembly.  When working unmanaged, I believe your only option is the non-graphical file if you want where used and reuse.

Thanks,
Ken

Production: ST9 MP10
Testing: ST10 MP1

PLM World Member Phenom
I find your answer reassuring, in the sense that my knowledge of Solid Edge is not missing any major functionality. But, oh how I wish there was an easier way.

Phenom
Phenom

I have to agree with you here Scott, it would be great if virtual components could be used in a BOM/Parts list.

Maybe there is an enhancement request here.

Until then, it looks like you are stuck with non-graphic parts.

If only you could balloon to them on a drawing.