Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

Using one part as reference to make another

Creator
Creator

I'm new to solid edge and just learning the fundamentals but I'm having trouble using a part as reference to build another. For example lets say I model the bed of a pickup truck. I model in the bed floor, sides, wheel wells, tie down points and factory bolts, etc. Now I'm making something to go inside of the pickup bed. What is the best way to use the bed as reference for placing lines and solid objects without actually making the new part be the same part. Is this done with layers?

Thank you for any help or links to tutorials or whatever guidance.

10 REPLIES 10

Re: Using one part as reference to make another

Gears Esteemed Contributor Gears Esteemed Contributor
Gears Esteemed Contributor

Hi there @HSchwab,

Depending on how you want to use the model down stream, will usually dictate how one should go about it. Typically one would build parts in the context of an assembly, using Create-In Place.

BUT, there is a fast & loose way to do it, in the single design model file, by the use of the Multi-Body work flow. [you can then Multi-Body Publish later on, to get individual parts]

Solids_AddBody.PNG

Sean Cresswell
Design Manager Streetscape Ltd
Solid Edge 2019 [MP8] Classic [x3 Seats - Cloud Enabled]
Windows 10 - Quadro P2000

Gears Esteemed Contributor Gears Esteemed Contributor
Gears Esteemed Contributor

Hi @HSchwab 

and besides that what was suggested by @SeanCresswell  You also can use a Part Copy in an Ordered Part.

You associativeley can copy a part or an assembly to another part.

Either as Design or Construction.

And this geometry now could be used for a new part and new geometry.

regards
Wolfgang

Phenom
Phenom