Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Want to upgrade to ST6, can not uninstall ST4

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hello,

I have been using ST4 on my laptop (windows 7 64 bit) for six months now. I want to upgrade to ST6. Looks like I need to uninstall ST4 to install ST6. The problem is I can not find SolidEdge in the Add/Remove program list (Control Panel -> Programs and Features). I tried to uninstall it in a differnt way as given here http://support.microsoft.com/kb/247515. But, I could not find SolidEdge in this list too. Can I just delete the SolidEdge folder in Computer -> C: -> ProgramFiles (x86) to uninstall ST4?

Thank you

12 REPLIES

Re: Want to upgrade to ST6, can not uninstall ST4

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hello,

I am still struggling to install ST6. Now I have manually removed all the files related to ST4 and tried to install ST6. But, the installer keeps saying that it detected another version of the software on the machine and can not proceed with the installation unless the earlier version is uninstalled. I am left with no SolidEdge on my machine now.  I really appreciate your response.

Thank you

Gears Esteemed Contributor Gears Esteemed Contributor
Gears Esteemed Contributor

Hi there,

Because it doesn't appear in the installed programs list, I suspect that you may have deleted some of the install directory already.....I expect the only way to get around this now is to do a registry clean out, and this is NOT recommended if you're not familiar with making such edits.

Do you have C-Cleaner installed on your machine?...the free version offers some system registry cleaning that may help you in this case. [ http://www.piriform.com/ccleaner/download ]

Sean Cresswell
Design Manager Streetscape Ltd
Solid Edge ST10 [MP7] Classic [x2 seats]
Windows 10 - Quadro P2000

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Thank you for the suggestion!