Which Laptop/Workstation for CAD CAE?

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

I am a product designing student. I usually works with SolidEdge, Solidworks, Rhino-grasshopper and Keyshot. I am planning to buy a new 15" laptop/workstation. I have a few on my mind. My budget is around 2000€ as I am going to use it atleast for the next 5-6 years. I would like to know your recommendations based upon your expertise and point of view. I want it to last long and have good build quality. I am not mentioning RAM or SSD because they can be upgraded easily. Thanks in advance.

1. Lenovo ThinkPad P50. With i7 or Xeon 1505 and Nvidia Quadro M2000M

2. MSI ws60 i7 nvidia k2200

3. Accer predator 15' nvidia gtx 970M

I am also interested in knowing your system configuration!

I am more of a designer, than an engineer, but still I run fair amount of simulations to assess my ideas. I generally do more simulations of individual parts, than of assemblies. Generally structural tests. Rigt now, as such no analysis, but I use grasshopper with Rhino, I am running an i5 on my macbook with Win8 and it take 15 to 20 minutes to project nurbs or handel complex designs.

I don't work with large assemblies as I am still a student.

With Keyshot, I generally do exploded animations of assemblies, HQ renders for clients, thankfully I don't need to do a lot of them maybe few a week. I am also planning to hook an Egpu later with thunderbolt 3, but that's another story.

I study and live in another country, and I have to move always between FABLAB, University, My accommodation and my country. That's why I need to have a WS. Or else there is no comparision for a Desktop.

I hope this have served sufficient information. Thanks again for your interest!

(P.S. I am an ammature into CAD - CAE, please bare with me )

17 REPLIES

Re: Which Laptop/Workstation for CAD CAE?

Esteemed Contributor
Esteemed Contributor