Solved! Go to solution

Why can't I save my .par file as a .step file?

[ Edited ]

I'm completely new to Solid Edge and CAD in general so please bear with me if this is an incredibly easy question.

I've created a part by stiching together multiple surfaces, but when I try to export it to STEP format I get the following error: "This model contains no bodies, an output file will not be generated."

I've tried using the "Unite Bodies" button but it doesn't seem to make a difference. I realize that I should've started by clicking the miniscule "Add body" button before adding surfaces and such but is there no way to fix this mistake now?

I've attached the .par file in question if that can help discover what I did wrong. Thank you in advance!

6 REPLIES
Solution
Solution
Accepted by topic author jwi
‎08-26-2015 04:32 AM

First off, the issue you are having is because you have a...

First off, the issue you are having is because you have a construction surface model, not a solid body.  That said, the default Options for the STEP translator is not to save any constructions so thus you have nothing to save.

To fix, either turn your model into a solid by patching gaps/open faces and stiching together, or turn on the option to Export sheets (constructions).

Thanks,
Ken

Production: ST9 MP7
Testing: ST10

Re: First off, the issue you are having is because you have a...

So the Unite Bodies command won't help me? I tried patching gaps and stitching all surfaces but I still can't export it. It still doesn't think it's a body even though the only feature in my model now is named "solid_body_17" after I ran unite bodies on it.

What is the difference between a construction surface model and a solid body and why does ST5 still don't think I have a body? Could it have to do with that I am running an academic version of Solid Edge? I attached a screenshot to the original question if that would help.