can i move a bend WITHOUT extending the length of the part? (synchronous)

ok so im pretty new to solid edge. im still discovering what it can do.

ill set the scene for you guys!

my boss comes to me with a dxf of a part. i open the dxf in draft, then copy the dxf to my clipboard, then paste the profile into a synchronous sheet metal part. the parts normally have a few bends on them.

he roughly puts a bend line on the dxf for me. he gives me the dimension i need to acheive after bending so i adjust accordingly. 

EG. so sometimes after bending the ID will be .753 i need it to be .75

currently, i apply the bend.

measure the dimension.

if its wrong, ill undo the bend and offsett the bend line to the difference

then re-apply the bend to the correct dimension.

in synchronous i can just select the faces and move the flange without any issues which is great! THANKS SYNCHRONOUS!!!

the problem with that is its making the part smaller/bigger (which sometimes will throw out mounting holes etc etc.)

what i need to know;

is there a way of using synchronous to move the bend line to adjust the height of the bend?

is this possible in synchronous??

9 REPLIES

Re: can i move a bend WITHOUT extending the length of the part? (synchronous)

Phenom
Phenom

You just hit the nail on the head. This is one of the major reasons I don't use Sync for sheet metal. Especially with your work flow (starting from flat).

In general you will be better off using ordered sheet metal. That way you can control the flat pattern, bend locations, and cutout/hole locations all separate inside a single sketch.

ahhh well. thanks for the reply. i think this post was based more in hope than reality. i had a sneaking suspicion i was asking too much Smiley Happy 

maybe a  suggestion for a future update?  bend position control... somehow...

Phenom
Phenom