Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

need setting for configure ramdisk for speedup solidedge

Creator
Creator

Good morning, i need  to know about toi configure ramdisk for speedup solidedge.

i use large assembly, or need to convert step file of 200mb(with a i7 ssd 16gb ram needed more of 30 minutes)

thank you to all!

best regards

7 REPLIES 7

Re: need setting for configure ramdisk for speedup solidedge

Gears Esteemed Contributor Gears Esteemed Contributor
Gears Esteemed Contributor

Not sure a ramdisk is going to help. Can you tell if your HDD is churning while converting?

Bruce Shand
SE2019 MP8 - Insight - Win10 - K4200

Creator
Creator
during step conversion i see lots of work of hard disk led(it's SSD)
graphic card is a P2000

The SSD disk is already ram storage. I'm not an expert but if everything is working in ram already then what is making a ramdisk going to help? Your just reducing the pool of available base ram it seems to me. I think you only want a ram disk when a slower hard disk is doing a lot of work.

A 200mb step file is pretty big. Are there a lot of parts in it? Is the geometry feature rich, a lot of faces? Is it completing the task in that 30 minutes? That may just be what it takes with your setup.

<edit> I looked at some original step files from a customer I had to convert. One was 173mb. It took a long time as well. I think about that long if not longer. I wondered if SE had locked up while waiting. And I had to do a lot of simplification to help make the converted model usable. That model had every single fastener used. The fasteners had actual 3D helical threads and there were a bunch of extruded channel fully modeled with all radii. Everything was "realistically" modeled. It was/is kind of a nightmare. I don't think your time is unreasonable.

Bruce Shand

Hi there @Silvano74,