cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Need advice on troubleshooting client crash

Solution Partner Genius Solution Partner Genius
Solution Partner Genius

Hello,

I am quite new to Teamcenter and am experimenting with installing and administering environments within virtual machines, so bear with me!

My problem is java keeps crashing on me for some reason, and it became gradually worse. The steps which I have taken are summarized below in bullet point form:

• Install 11.2.0 RapidStart 4Tier
  • Update to 11.2.2

• Try logging in, "shared memory cache" error, fixed by using this guide: Link
  • Attach WordX dataset to item revision, rich client viewer viewsthe document fine
  • Close the rich client, reboot the server

• Succesfully log in, try viewing the word document
    • Teamcenter stuck in loading (bottom right progress bar)
    • Eventually the entire client window becomes "not responding"
    • I close the client and am presented with an error: 

2016-06-15 08_17_11-TC11 Testmiljö - VMware Workstation.png

• Reboot the server, log in successfully again. Same problems. I noticed that I am in the "JT preview" tab when logging in, which is causing my client to crash when loading the Home folder. The embedded viewer seems to load upon login since its window and progress bars pop up momentarily.

• Close client, open client, log in, now the Teamcenter client window is "not responding" before it even has a chance to load the "Home"-folder. Still on "JT Preview" tab, but no JT's to view in the "Home"-folder.
  • Now I'm "locked" outside of Teamcenter as the client keeps crashing upon logging in.
  • The gradual degrading of performance (loading/crashing) to me signifies some low system resource, or cache problem. But since I am very inexperienced with Teamcenter and am in the process of learning it, I am asking the question here in case anyone knows what I should be looking for, or what could be wrong.