Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Remove status on a folder?

Phenom
Phenom

TC 11.2.3

 

We had a user accidentally run the release workflow on a Folder.  We need to remove the "released" status on it, but not remove the status on the hundreds/thousands of released NX item revisions in the folder structure?

 

How would you do this, in the least painful way?

 

ReleasedFolder.JPG

-Dave
NX 11 | Teamcenter 11 | Windows 8.1
4 REPLIES

Re: Remove status on a folder?

Solution Partner Phenom Solution Partner Phenom
Solution Partner Phenom
Add the folder to an "unreleased" folder in your Home and run the release_man util. It cannot be run as infodba but must be run by someone belonging to the "DBA" group, you. Assuming the release status name is "Released":
1. Create a folder called "unreleased" in your Home folder.
2. Paste the "60 - Tools & Jigs" into "unreleased" folder.
3. In a TC cmd window:
release_man -u=Dave -p=DavePwd -g=dba -spec -unrelease -status=Released -folder=unrelease [-force]
Where -force is optional, try it without that arg first.

Randy Ellsworth, Teamcenter Architect, Applied CAx, LLC
NX 11 | SW 2016 | Creo 4 | TcUA 11.4
Evaluating: AW 3.4

Re: Remove status on a folder?

Phenom
Phenom

Will that remove the status on just the folder?  leaving the contents still with their status?

-Dave
NX 11 | Teamcenter 11 | Windows 8.1

Re: Remove status on a folder?

Solution Partner Phenom Solution Partner Phenom
Solution Partner Phenom
It will only remove the status for an object directly in the "unrelease" folder. IF you want to remove status for sub-objects then you have to expand, copy all the objects with status, and paste them directly in the folder. It does not traverse.
https://docs.plm.automation.siemens.com/tdoc/tc/11.2/help/#uid:release_man
Note: you probably don't need the "-spec" arg.

Randy Ellsworth, Teamcenter Architect, Applied CAx, LLC
NX 11 | SW 2016 | Creo 4 | TcUA 11.4
Evaluating: AW 3.4

Re: Remove status on a folder?

Phenom
Phenom

Well, we ended up calling in GTAC, and they had us create a new workflow, to undo the release..  At least now if someone does this again, we won't have to hunt and try to remember how we did it.

 

Thanks!!

 

GTAC work flow method:

1) Create a new workflow template and call it "DBA Unrelease"
2) On the "Start" task (the root of the workflow), remove ALL of the EPM-attach-related-objects handlers
3) Following "Start", add a new "Do" task
4) Following the Do task, add a new "Add Status" task
5) On the Add Status task, remove the EPM-create-status handler, and set the argument for EPM-set-status to -action=delete
6) Set the workflow to "Browse" mode. This cancels "Edit" mode, but leaves the workflow only visible to DBA users. It should carry a yellow triangle.

That workflow can then be used as follows:

1) While logged in as a dba group member, select all individual objects that are meant to be unreleased (such as a single folder).
- No additional targets will be automatically added, such as folder contents, because we removed the EPM-attach-related-objects handlers.
2) Use Ctrl + P to start a new workflow process, and initiate the DBA Unrelease workflow
3) Navigate to My Worklist, find the new workflow, and verify that the target list is exactly as expected
- If not, abort the workflow and try again
4) If the target list is correct, complete the Do task and all targets will be unreleased.
-Dave
NX 11 | Teamcenter 11 | Windows 8.1