Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Do you mean 

Teamcenter 10.1.6.1 Patch Failure

Hi I was wondering if anyone would be able to help me with an error I have been getting. I am a student running Teamcenter for my EcoCAR3 team and so don't have the experience of a regular Teamcenter administrator. We recently recieved NX 11 licenses and so did an upgrade, and are therefore upgrading our Teamcenter Rapid Start 10.1.0 to 10.1.6.1, so that the two still interface. When installing the patch on the server side I recieved this error message (I also attached a picture). 

java.lang.Exception: The update_runner utility failed with a return status of 1.

I have also attached the log from the update.

Does anyone have any idea what this could refer to? I have searched through the Solutions Center to no avail and GTAC will not be open until Monday.

9 REPLIES

Re: Teamcenter 10.1.6.1 Patch Failure

It looks like you ran into a Java issue...

Output from command:  "C:\PROGRA~1\Siemens\TEAMCE~1\bin\update_runner.bat" -u=infodba  -p=***** -g=dba -templates=foundation -isLiveUpdate=false -log=C:\PROGRA~1\Siemens\TEAMCE~1\logs\update_runner.log
Error: Could not create the Java Virtual Machine.
Error: A fatal exception has occurred. Program will exit.
Unrecognized VM option 'UseCompressedOops'
Did you mean '(+/-)CheckCompressedOops'?
command_exit=1

This log "C:\PROGRA~1\Siemens\TEAMCE~1\logs\update_runner.log" might show more about the error.

Do you have JAVA_OPTS or JAVA_ARGS set as a system environment variable?

Randy Ellsworth, Teamcenter Architect, Applied CAx, LLC
NX 11.0.1.mp01 | SW 2016 | TcUA 11.2.3
Evaluating:AW 3.2

No we do not have either of those set as environment variables. We have found the below solution center entry, and have tried adding -XX:-UseCompressedOops to the Teamcenter.ini file with no change. We then tried changing this line in Teamcenter.ini, as it was referring to JRE 7 even though we are using JRE 8.0.66

Solution Center