Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Teamcenter preferences

Experimenter
Experimenter

Hi,

This is not really pertaining to any specific problem or error but I would like to have a discussion on your usage of Teamcenter preferences and the intended purpose from Siemens.

Naturally Siemens have provided us with load of OOTB preferences that control different beavior in the application.

As of now we are having quite a lot of customizations in our Teamcenter evironment and many of these customizations are using custom preferences to achieve a desired behavior. As an admin I try to persuade our projects to manifest any business rules in BMIDE, for instance using constants to implement business specific rules, but I'm not really sure why I'm doing this :-)
I just feel somewhere that the purpose of preferences is not to control business rules but rather control application behavior (but I'm also struggling even to explain the difference here).

If we were to control the rules through preferences, then why did Siemens give us the BMIDE? Shouldn't all business rules be implemented in the model but then what are preferences to control?

Sorry for this somewhat messy post, but hopefully someone will understand what I'm trying to ask.

How do you guys go about this? Do you use custom preferences to achieve business goals and if yes, why not implement the rules in BMIDE?

How do you interpret Siemens intention of preferences vs BMIDE elements?

Any answers appreciated, I just want to get a discussion going.

Cheers,

Mattias / Sweden

4 REPLIES

Re: Teamcenter preferences

Solution Partner Phenom Solution Partner Phenom
Solution Partner Phenom