we do have sometimes users that claim "Teamcenter does not save my changes".
We use MS Office datasets in Teamcenter 10 (no office integration).
This behavior is easy to reproduce:
- checkout the dataset
- open and edit dataset in MS Word or Excel
- save in MS Word or Excel (you may close the file, keep application running)
- checkin dataset in TC
- close the application (later that day because user worked on other files too)
= Teamcenter reports: "Uploading of the dataset has failed due to a canceled checkout. The file you have updated can be found at C:\Users\...1515596030326"
I understand that MS office does not release the file until the application is closed.
But I would expect Teamcenter to issue a warning when trying to checkin (similar warning is given when closing TC and a dataset is opened in external application)
The circumstance that TC accepts the checkin command without any warning is a big issue for us.
Has anybody an idea how TC can be configured (Preference, etc.) to issue such a warning?
Thanks for your reply.
NX 11 | SW 2016 | Creo 4 | TcUA 11.4
Evaluating: AW 3.4
On the other hand Teamcenter knows about the application when closing Teamcenter. So why not at the simple checkin (if TC is not able to deleted the temporary folder).
We had MSO intergration active some years ago leading to other troubles. So we turned it off again.