cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

csv2tcxml/TCXML data migration in TC11.2.x

Hi everyone. I just wanted to start a discussion. How many people out there are using the csv2tcxml tool to convert your data for bulk data migration? I've been doing it for 8 or 9 months now. I've successfully moved 98% of my data migration tasks to TCXML but still have to clean up 2% the old way. I wanted to hear from other users how it is going for them. What have they got snagged on? I'm stuck with a pesky problem with ip & gov_classification and Participant users on Change Objects. I have a work around but TCXML is falling short in this area currently for my migration project. Fun fact, my previous load cycle was about 102 hrs and with TCXML bulk load it is under 4 hrs for the same data! 

Regards,

Jamie G.

22 REPLIES

Re: csv2tcxml/TCXML data migration in TC11.2.x

Solution Partner Phenom Solution Partner Phenom
Solution Partner Phenom
Hi Jamie,

I could find very few people using csv2tcxml at Siemens PLM Connection 2016. You and OrbitalATK were the big hitters.

Best,
/Randy

Randy Ellsworth, Teamcenter Architect, Applied CAx, LLC
NX 11.0.1.mp01 | SW 2016 | TcUA 11.2.3
Evaluating:AW 3.2

Re: csv2tcxml/TCXML data migration in TC11.2.x

I'm in contact with the Orbital ATK team and we are sharing issues on csv2tcxml. I am hoping more people are trying to use it and if they've want to share any success or failures. The more people trying to use it the more it will get enhanced. 

~Jamie G.

Re: csv2tcxml/TCXML data migration

Solution Partner Creator Solution Partner Creator
Solution Partner Creator

Hi Jamie,

We are looking at useing csv2tcxm to replicate data from the Parts Catalouge / ERP system to Teamcenter using csv2tcxml. We have done some inital loads using IPS int a test environment and it took DAYS. (0.6 to 1 second per record for 1 million records).