Cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Assigning multiple variations of same part in Teamcenter

Experimenter
Experimenter

Say I have an mold tool assembly already loaded into Teamcenter and this assembly contains small variations in the mold shape, lets call it an AD version and a Non-AD version, depending on what our customer wants the part to look like on any given day. In NX we have a couple of component parts we swap out that are handled by reference sets or suppression. In Teamcenter we want to be able to have both variations available to our tooling engineer, but we do not want him to think about reference sets or suppressing and un-suppressing. Through Teamcenter integration can I do a "Save As Alternate Representation", one being setup as the "AD" version and the other setup as the "Non-AD" version to accomplish that. I am a bit new at Teamcenter, so could you explain the best process for this.

Thanks, MC

4 REPLIES

Re: Assigning multiple variations of same part in Teamcenter

Solution Partner Phenom Solution Partner Phenom
Solution Partner Phenom

There are several methods to achieve your result. One is using options and variants in structure manager to configure the BOM then send to NX. Options and Variants are an additional cost for Structure Manager in TC so some people opt for another, more creative, method.

Suppressing components doesn't hide them from the BOM in TC without specifically telling the NX component not to sync. Keeping the Tc BOM in sync with the parts list will be especially challenging when swapping components out using your current method.

Randy Ellsworth, Teamcenter Architect, Applied CAx, LLC
NX 11.0.1.mp01 | SW 2016 | TcUA 11.2.3
Evaluating:AW 3.2

Highlighted

Experimenter
Experimenter