cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

UI Freezing when TxMessageBox is Used

Hello fellow developers!!

I have been developing in Process Simulate for 6 years.  Up until recently I have utilized winforms in Commands and Viewers.  I am rewriting my DCS Modeling Designer viewer utilizing a WPF UI with MVVM pattern.  I ran into an issue with utilizing the TXMessageBox.Show().  It is called in a catch block, which is in a service class for creating modeling objects to catch any uncaught errors that may relate to missing parameters that I cannot control.  The Service Class Method is called by a ViewModel method that is connected to a property changed event, namely a value changed in the numeric up down control I pulled down from Nuget.

I eliminated it being any UI related issues in the binding such as maybe it being a value changed in the Nuget control .dll getting stuck by eliminating the Message Box call and running it, so it is the TxMessageBox.Show causing the problem.  Has anyone else had issues like this?

5 REPLIES

Re: UI Freezing when TxMessageBox is Used

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

Hi Cliff_Knasinski,

Can you send a small example so we can analyze the problem?

We are using the TxMessageBox with WPF dialogs and we haven't experienced that problem.

Best Regards,

DianaG

Experimenter
Experimenter

Cliff, 

Have you insured you are on the same thread as well?

Im not having any issues with TxMessageBox but at times have seen some weird behavior with other controls using MVVM, I think it was mostly the TxNumericUpDownEditControl, but thats because its not NativeWPF but a wrapper that is basically using a WinForms control within it, so i had to rewrite the control to get the functionality i wanted from it.

Make sure that you turn on debugging at least when your stepping through to a higher level