Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 
Highlighted

CNC and robot integration CEE application

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor

Hello, 

I am using PS 13.1.1, I am studying on event based simulations these days. I got a problem. 
Here is a robot feeding a CNC vertical machining center with an integrated logic resources 
has enters and exits (please see attachments). the logic here is that:

1. The Robot pick the incoming part with a signal: NC_Ready=1from CNC machine. (Checks NC is ready).

2. Then robot place the part to the cnc returns the signal: Part_ready = 1.

3. CNC takes this input(one of CNC enters). then starts to cut part (with a constant cutting speed. )

4. After CNC finished its work, the output of CNC signal: NC_Done is turns to 1. 
5. Here,Robot must pick the part with a condition: if NC is done (NC_Done=1).

However at this situation(@5), Robot is not going on next operation: part1_out_cnc. And robot starts to wait for NC_Ready signal, that means Robotic cycle returns to beginning without execute part1_out_cnc. 

Can you help me to solve this problem.

6 REPLIES

Re: CNC and robot integration CEE application

Siemens Legend Siemens Legend
Siemens Legend

Hi Burpee

Did you manage to resolve this issue? 

It's a little hard to tell from the details you sent, but at least at a first glance it looks as if both your robotics operations (in_cnc and out_cnc) are running in parallel. 

Are you following some training document? I would suggest to avoid using Transitions for your case and to use a robot program to manage to robot's calls to the different routines. 

Kind regards,
Gal Snir

Valued Contributor
Valued Contributor
Hello Gal,

Thanks for your attention. Aye, I am following training document. I have checked "Transitions" boxes again. there is no logic relations or starting conditions in the transitions windows. just only operation_end signals. Do you need more information from the cell?

Thanks.
Burpee

Valued Contributor