How to interpret peaks in FRF?

Experimenter
Experimenter

I am a new NVH Engineer working with LMS test.lab.

These days I am working on natural frequency measurement of a component using Impact Testing. 

Sometimes I use to get adjacent peaks or abnormal peaks as shown below. I get confused whether I should choose the first peak or second in such cases.

frf1.png

What is the meaning of this type of peak in a FRF measurement?   What is the modal frequency?

Also, is the phase information relevant?  Can I use it to decide?

Looking forward to all replies. 

2 REPLIES 2

Re: How to interpret peaks in FRF?

Siemens Phenom Siemens Phenom
Siemens Phenom

Hello  ,

Those all could be possible resonances.  I would suggest plotting all the FRFs together to see if some measurements have larger peaks than others.  It's possible that the location you're displaying is not well excited at that resonance.  Also, sometimes we see small peaks when measuring the response in X or Y and exciting in Z although that does not seem the case here.  Sometimes we see this with a 
boundary condition mode (bungee, air bladder, tire or structure you hanging the component from).  By overlaying all the measurements you will hopefully gain some insight.

The phase would shift 180 degrees as you pass through a resonance.  You can also look at the driving point measurement to identify resonances if the resonances are all excited at that location.  These articles by Dr. Peter Avitabile at the University of Massachusetts Lowell are an excellent resource for the new NVH Engineer:  https://www.uml.edu/docs/Modal_Space_Articles_1998-2014_17years_MACL_tcm18-189938.pdf 

Dr. Avitabile states:  "Some important characteristics of a drive point measurement are:

• all resonances (peaks) are separated by anti-resonances
  • the phase looses 180 degrees of phase as we pass over a resonance and gains 180 degrees of phase as we pass over an anti-resonance